Over the last two years, I’ve been podcasting my novel, The Aldersgate here. I’ve also had a short story available, which takes place in the same world, entitled “Castledeck and the Arabella”.  In spite of the fact that people have asked to give me money for the work I’ve done (which is truly sweet and thoughtful) I’ve never actually put up a donation button or anything. I haven’t felt it necessary.

But things have changed.

In light of recent events in Haiti, I’m asking you a favor. My friends Bart Leib and Kay Holt at Crossed Genres have proposed that we offer free fiction in exchange for donations to Haiti relief: a brilliant, brilliant idea.

If you’ve listened to Alderpod– if you’ve read the short story, if you’ve enjoyed Arri Gaffer’s recording of it–consider giving what you can to people who really need it, those people struggling through tragedy the likes of which we cannot comprehend, in Haiti. My mother spent almost a month in Haiti about four years ago, and returned with the most haunting, desperate, moving stories about that island and its beautiful people; that they have been made to endure yet another catastrophic event like this is beyond heartbreaking.

If every single one of you who have read the story before, or have listened to the podcast, donated just a dollar, we’d have close to $2,000! That kind of money could do so much to help.

No amount is too small. Join with us in responding to this tragedy to the best of our abilities by sending relief to Haiti.

“The value of a man resides in what he gives and not in what he is capable of receiving.” — Albert Einstein

To donate, visit the Crossed Genres website.

Castledeck and the Arabella can be found here as .html, .pdf, and as an .mp3

